
 

#9     BUFFALO COUNTY ASSESSOR’S OFFICE 
 

JOB DESCRIPTIONS 
 

 
Homestead Exemption Service Clerk   
 
Works for the Convenience of the Assessor. 
 
Overall  summary: Authority for completing Homestead Exemption applications and 

Verifying Income eligibility plus entering exemptions in computer and reporting 
Exemptions to the State twice a year. 

 
Comprehend and be capable of following the Nebraska Revised Statutes 77 

Article 35 pertaining to Homestead  Exemption. 77-3501 thru 77-3529. 
 
Comprehend and be capable of following  Chapter 45 – Homestead Exemption 

Regulations of Title 350 of the Nebraska Administrative Code. 
 
Communicate with state homestead exemption specialist (PAD) about questions 

concerning statute, regulations, directives, Forms, and specific applicant’s 
application. 

 
Be knowledgeable of and capable of working with the Homestead Exemption Maximum  
 Value and the most recent year’s Average Residential Value. (exempt amount  
 reduced 10% for each $2500 assessed value above Maximum value – not  
 eligible for exemption if $20,000 AV above Maximum.) 
 
Be familiar with the Homestead Eligibility groups and their requirements: (a) Persons 

over the age of 65; (b) qualified disabled individuals; or (c) qualified disabled  
veterans & their widow(er)s broken down into seven categories of home owners. 

  
Be familiar and capable of working with the income Tables as revised by statute 

(77-3507, 77-3508, 77-3509 as Amended by LB 986. And the Nebraska  
Schedule I – Income Statement. 

 
Be familiar with and VERIFY a HOMESTEAD (a residence or mobile home and up to 

one acre of land OCCUPIED by the homestead owner of record from January 1  
through August 15 of each year).  

 
Be familiar with and VERIFY a Nursing Home Resident (Homestead occupancy   
 Requirements continue to be required and met during a nursing home stay  
 provided that (a) the owner intends to return to the residence or mobile home, 

(b) the furnishings are left in place, and (c) the residence or mobile home is not 
Sold, leased, or rented. 

 
 
Process Homestead Exemption transfers Form 458Toccurring between January 1 and  
 August 14 and verify occupancy of new homestead took place on-or-before 

August 15 and including mobile home transfers from one county to another 



 

. 
Communicate with state homestead exemption specialist (PAD) and reject application  

when applicant is no longer qualified by not following state statute. 
 
Represent the Assessor’s Office with the Assessor before the Board Of Equalization 

(BOE) in case of a Protested denial of homestead exemption application 
Presenting the needed information to explain/clarify the denial by the state (PAD) 

 
Complete Homestead Exemption Summary Certificate, Form 458S, of taxes that would  
 have been collected on the exempt portions of the qualifying homesteads, send  
 to treasurer to forward to the Nebraska Department of Revenue, Property  
 Assessment  Division. 
 
Complete Homestead Exemption Summary Certificate, Form 458X, for amending or 

correcting the previously sent Form 458S pursuant to REG 45-005.04A & 
REG 45-005.04B after May 30, deadline. 
 

Be aware and capable of following the ASSESSMENT CALENDAR and the due dates 
for Homestead Exemption Forms to Property Assessment Division (PAD). For 
example, must mail a notice on-or-before April 1 to claimants who are the owners 
of a Homestead which has been granted a homestead exemption in the 
preceding year…with exceptions. 

 
Help applicants with the deductible Medical and Dental Expenses 
 
Fill out or help applicants fill out the required Homestead Exemption Forms;  Form 458  

and  Schedule I after February 1 and before June 30, Form 458B, Form 458L, Form 
458R,Form 458S, Form 458T, Form 458V, and Form 458X 

 
Maintain personal  identity  confidential client information from  inspection by another, 

non-authorized (need to know) client, especially when assisting another client.  
(Don’t let someone see someone else’s personal information) 
 

Provide customer service at the counter. 
Provide counter service for homestead exemption applications, and back-up 
Counter assistance for Personal Property, Mobile Home 521s and Permissive Exemption 
Applications. 
 
Guest computer and general questions about Real property value or taxes. 

 
Run various indexes for customers 

 
Answer telephone and provide customer service by phone, FAX or mail. 
 
Provide clerical support  for Field Appraisers: Commercial, Agricultural, Residential and  
 Exempt including making new cards, verifying information with MIPS, data 

Entry, and completing Excel Spreadsheets. 
 
Pull parcel record cards and file cards. 
 
 



 

Enter changes to ag-land status by LVG (LCG) codes resulting from certification of 
irrigated acres; Update MIPS CAMA system and agriculture property record 
cards.  
 

Back-up help with (a) Abstract report to State, (b) CTL report to State, (c)  Personal  
 Property Schedules, (d)  Pre-bills and corrections, (e) Centrally Assessed and  
 Fund Information. 
 
Back-up help putting together & sending mailings on AG, RES, MH, TOWNS, NBHDS, 
 RURAL-SUBS et al as needed. 
 
Type omitted and undervalued notices and forward to County Clerk’s Office. 
 
Run various indexes and TIF Reports. 
 
Assist with stuffing envelopes with change of value notices at end of May and sending to mail room. 
 
Provide Mail Room clerical duties. 
 
Process & File Financial Claims against the Budget.  Maintain a continuing balance with the Budget.  
Advisory to the Assessor. 
 
And any additional duties that may be required by the Assessor 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



 

 
Qualifications 
 
MUST be able to handle sensitive, personal, identity information  in a CONFIDENTIAL 

Manner (as if Top Secret) such as Social Security numbers, Income information 
Medical history, and so forth. 
 

MUST be capable of working with Statutes (laws), Regulations (Administrative Code)  
 and Property Assessment Division Directives 
 
MUST possess a high school diploma or G.E.D. equivalent. 
 
MUST have a thorough knowledge of the computer including using the internet, Excel 
 Spreadsheets, Microsoft Word and email. 
 
MUST possess typing skills and capable of using a calculator. 
 
MUST possess an ability to learn and to multi-task. 
 
MUST possess good relational and communication skills. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 



 

HOMESTEAD EXEMPTION SERVICE CLERK 
 Shirley 

PROPERTY ASSESSMENT & TAXATION CALENDAR 
Nebraska Department of Revenue, Property Assessment Division 

 
Jan 01 Assessment of Real Property (Discovery, List, Value)   77-1301 
 
Jan 01 Effective Date for Filing:     Homestead Exemption Claimants MUST be (a) Owner of 

Record and (b) Occupy the homestead. (c) MUST be 65 or older.(d) Effective Date of  
 Disability and Filing Status.     77-3502   77-3505 
 
Feb 01 Last day PTA provide counties w Printed Claim Forms and Address Lists of prior year 

applicants.     77-3510 
 
Feb 01 First day for claimants to file NE Homestead Exemption App or Certification of Status. 
  May fall on Feb 2 or 3 if Feb 1 is on Sat or Sun.            77-3512,  77-3513,  77-3514 
 
Aft Mar 19 Overvaluation or Undervaluation.  After March 19 and before July 25 (Aug 10 when  
  extension) report to B.O.E. any overvalued or undervalued property. 77-1315.01 
 
Anytime Duty to report to BOE all real property omitted from the assessment roll for the current  
  or any former year except when such real property has changed ownership otherwise  
  than by will, inheritance, or gift.  77-1317, 77-123, 77-124,  
 
Anytime Correct the tax rolls as provided in section 77-1613.02 for any real property listed on the  
  Assessment roll but omitted from the tax roll.  77-1316.01 
 
Anytime BOE may meet at any time for correction of clerical errors defined in 77-128.    77-1507 
  (Clerical error means transposition of numbers, mathematical error, computer 

malfunction  causing programming  and printing errors, data entry error, items of real 
property other than land identified on the wrong parcel, incorrect ownership, or  
certification of an incorrect valuation to political subdivisions.)  77-128 

 
Apr 01  If homestead exemption notices mailed on or before Feb 01 did not contain all of  
  The statutorily required information a 2nd notice must be sent on/before April 01. 
    77-3513,  77-3514 
 
Apr 01  Last day to send a RE-APPLY reminder to eligible previous year homestead  
  Exemption applicants.     77-3513,  77-3514 
 
Apr 15 Income Tax Time:  For those who complete Part II of the Form 458 Schedule I – 

Income Statement the IRS may grant extensions. Federal Law 
 
May 01 Deadline Physician’s Certificate for LATE Homestead Exemption filing FORM 458L 
  In counties less than 100,000 population.  77-3512,  77-3513,  77-3514.01 
 
 
 
 



 

May 30 Deadline Trea/Assr file FORM 458X amended homestead exemption summary 
  Certificate for tax loss previous year  (NOTE:  458X may be filed reflecting changes  
  based on income ANYTIME up to 3 years after the exemption year.)  77-3523 and 
    77-3517 
 
Jun 30 Deadline for filing Homestead Exemption App or Certification Of Status, Form 458 
    77-3512 
 
Jul 20  If deadline extension granted by B O E, new Deadline for filing Homestead Exemption 

App or Certification Of Status, Form 458   77-3512 
 
Jul 31  Last Day assessors send Notice of Rejection of Homestead Exemption Form 458R 
    77-3516 
 
Aug 01 LAST DAY send approved homestead exemptions or Certification of Status to PTA. 
  Form 458, with Disability Certifications Form 458B 
           Or   Veterans Affairs Letters 
              And Form 458 Schedule I – Income Statements    77-3517 
 
Aug 15 Approve/Deny homestead exemption based on ownership or occupancy jan1 to date 
    77-3502 
 
Aug 15 Deadline claimants to file Application for Transfer Form 458T   77-3509.01 
 
Sep 01 After B O E value adjustments, Assr determines AVERAGE RESIDENTAL VALUE 
  For homestead exemption and certifies the Homestead Exemption Certification of  
  Average Assessed Value of Single-Family Residential Property Form 458V  to PTA 
    77-3506.02 
Nov 01 Last Day for PTA certify qualified Homestead Exemption  applicant income.  77-3517 
 
Nov 30 Deadline ASSR/TREA certify to PTA Homestead Exemption Summary Certificate 
  Form 458S for tax loss due to homestead exemptions for the current tax year. 
  (Both signatures required)   77-3523 
 
Dec 31 Last Day for Tax Commissioner to review income and other information for the third 
  Preceding year and take any action.  77-3517 
 
 
 


